Read and Write with Natasha
Read and Write with Natasha
Why I don't like reading science fiction books
0:00
-34:39

Why I don't like reading science fiction books

It’s not really from lack of trying. I tried, I really tried

I have finally figured out why I don’t like reading science fiction books.

It’s not really from lack of trying. I tried, I really tried. I even picked up the popular book Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir  but never finished it. I felt so bad about quitting that I recorded a YouTube video to alleviate my guilt.

📹 Watch below 👇 (Please do me a favor and subscribe as I'm trying to grow the channel).

But why do I shy away from science fiction?

My eureka moment came after I interviewed prolific Jordanian writer Fadi Zaghmout on my podcast “Read and Write with Natasha.”

This interview solved the mystery for me.

The eighties drought

I grew up in Amman, Jordan, reading Arabic literature. There was hardly any Arabic science fiction. What was available back then were mostly historical fiction novels and some mystery books that I devoured.

Arabic science fiction was hardly available, almost non-existent, in the early eighties, so my palate for that genre never developed. It’s akin to trying fish for the first time in your forties. Your taste buds will initially be shocked to their core, and then they will tread carefully afterward.

I haven’t given up on science fiction altogether. I still dip my toes in the science fiction cold water every once in a while, hoping that my body will eventually adjust to the temperature. Who knows? I might eventually be able to conquer my aversion to this genre.

Conversation with Fadi

Fadi Zaghmout is passionate about the transformative landscape of Arabic science fiction.

His novel Heaven on Earth and its sequel portray the prospects of a world free from aging and invite reflection on the ripples such a future might create.

In our conversation, we discussed the slow emergence of Arabic science fiction and scrutinized how these boundary-pushing themes are received in traditionally conservative Arab society.


Don’t miss this conversation with talented Jordanian author Fadi Zaghmout, whose books have been published in several languages and are sold worldwide.

Below is the interview on YouTube if you prefer the video format.

Read and Write with Natasha is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber and you will get a free access to all my self-led online courses and my writing community.

P.S. I'm running my 4th cohort on how to monetize your writing in September, in which I show you how to find writing gigs in markets across the world, grasp the art of pitching, and make income from your writing.

You can check it out here and read testimonials from previous students. I would love to have you as a participant.

Discussion about this podcast